Welcome to the desert

The past two weeks have been extremely busy for me. Adjusting to a new place, new people, new job, new sights and new sounds. I have successfully made it to Nevada and I have finished my first work week which is actually 10 days long (this lets us have 4 day weekends to travel and explore the nearby areas).

Our first week was pretty much just training. Waking up at 6 am and heading out to do some birding and practicing some of the protocols we were learning in the afternoon and tuning our ears to the songs of the local birds. For someone who has spent most of her time on the west coast, there is a bit of an overlap between the birds but I have come to learn that birds have dialects because the same species here sound nothing like the ones at home. It’s been pretty overwhelming adapting to everything here but I think once I get into the swing of things in the field, it will all fall into place.

Evenings are always fun here though, after making dinner (yes I am cooking, mostly spaghetti and the just add water and butter variety but it’s more than what I normally do) we eat outside, talk birds and then we settle in to watch Game of Thrones. We’ve got a couple of people who have never seen the series who are now hooked so we’ve started from the beginning to get them all caught up.

My weekend has been pretty relaxing so far which is nice. There are 8 people living at the field house and half of them have left for the weekend to visit home, visit another part of the state or different states. I’m pretty happy I am staying at the field house this weekend because I’ve had to do some running around to get some more paperwork done so I can function in the US. Now that it’s all in the works, I can focus on getting myself together for the next 10 days in the field. Apparently it will take me 3 days to do this but I’m hoping that the system I devise is somewhat decent and that I can maintain it throughout the days in the field so that I don’t have to spend another entire weekend packing.

Weekends seem to be pretty exciting times though as there are lots of plans among the field crew to head to different places and do different things. The next weekend I have I know I have to go back into North Las Vegas to finish up my paperwork from this weekend. I’m also hoping to be able to use one of the company cars to head out to the Grand Canyon for the day on Friday because it’s only 3 hours away and it would be amazing to see. I’m hoping to do some bird mist netting the rest of the weekend because I’ve always wanted to try that. There’s also talks of heading out to California, either just north of LA or to San Francisco one of the weekends after that.

There seem to be many adventures coming along my way and despite having already been here for two weeks it feels like the adventures are just beginning. I get to start in blackbrush habitat doing some surveying and who knows where that will be. I’ll try to keep you all updated as much as possible but chances are it’s going to be every two weeks or so! Internet can be hard to come by in the field but I’ll try every time I stop by the field house!

Until next time,

Selina

Categories: My Story, Nevada, Travel | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

